Who’s Really To Blame?

Ok, so technically this is my first blog entry and it’s a rant, go figure…lol.  I wanted to share this and welcome any opinions you may have.  Now on that note, I shall continue…
 
I am so tired of people blaming others for their misfortune, terrible life, mistakes, financial problems, emotional problems, etc.  I have been guilty of this as well.  But honestly, who’s to blame?  Not the other person, not your childhood, your parents, your friends, your loved ones, but yourself.  Really now people, how is it anyone else’s fault for the choices YOU have made?  We are all adults now and make our own choices (and remember what goes around comes around).  Yes, granted, we will make some choices based on what we have learned from others and pure naivete, but that is also how we learn.  If we don’t learn, change and grow from our mistakes, then it’s our own damn fault for the lives we are living (if we’re not happy with them).
 
I can honestly say myself that I have made mistake after mistake after mistake, yet, do I blame others?  I have, I am guilty of that, but I do also know that my choices led me to the concequenses that I’ve had to face.  It wasn’t my mother’s choices, it wasn’t my father’s choices, or anyone else that has come into my life, it was my own.  I must own up to that and I have for the most part.  The only way to grow as a human being and become more at peace with who you are, where you are, what you are etc. is to own up to it, deal with it, accept it, learn from it and move on.
 
I’ve heard so many people say, I did this because of this person, or I am this way because of this…blah blah blah.  Get over it and own up to your own damn mistakes.  Unless someone is making your decisions for you because for some reason you cannot, you are the master of your own life, make it what you want, take what you want out of it, accept the things that have happened in your life and learn from them then change what you feel you need to change.  I have had enough crap happen to me in my lifetime that I could write a book about, but if I was to turn around and blame others, and not own up to my own mistakes I’ve made along the way, then where would I be?  I can tell you that I wouldn’t be the person that I am today.  I took my life experiences and turned them around to become a stronger, wiser more loving (and forgiving) person that hopefully can help make a difference in others’ lives (even when that means getting hurt myself, because it’s still all a learning experience).
 
So people, now that I’ve vented, and got this off my chest, I welcome your opinions and views.  But remember, when it seems like it would be easier to blame someone else for your mistakes, own up to them instead  so you don’t have to keep facing them and you’ll be a much happier person in the end.
 
Tan
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Aug 17, 2005 @ 16:23:00

    i\’m behind you on that!!!! Hell, even yesterday on the news, they reported that scientists have discovereda gene the determines if you will be a smoker or not?!?! Now there is BS!!! What, now a DNA makes and determines our lives?!??! Yeah…OK!!!! (sarcasm) Not enough ppl are saying, "oops, that was cuz of me." The saying goes…..you learn from YOUR mistakes…not – you learn from mistakes you did that are other ppl\’s fault!

    Reply

  2. Unknown
    Sep 16, 2005 @ 17:24:05

    I have to disagree with you but only because my parents are both stubborn people.So you see its not really my fault.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

