2005

Well, I was just reflecting over the last year since this year is already coming to an end.  Man did it ever fly by. I was thinking about all the changes that have happened in my own life over the past year (good and bad) and wanted to share some of my accomplishments with all of you to let you know, that even in the face of change and adversity, you can still overcome and stand up tall and proud…
 
I have managed to lose 85 pounds in less than a year.  I can’t tell you how I did it since I’m still trying to figure that out myself.
 
I started to come out of my shell again and become the social person that those of you that knew me before, may remember.  Although I still have a little way to go yet.
 
I developed a new circle of wonderful friends and stopped allowing old "friends" to walk all over me.  I have also continued to stay in touch with several of my past friends as well, although probably not as much as I should.
 
I was able to find another job that I am enjoying, thus far.  Pay cut, yes, but I no longer feel trapped and miserable in the job that I once had.
 
I am able to smile and laugh more.
 
I rarely stress the "small" stuff anymore.  Financially I’m still completely strapped and live paycheck to paycheck but I know it always works out somehow.  And stressing doesn’t change the inevitable, anyway, it just makes it harder to deal with.
 
I have pretty much accepted every aspect of myself, flaws and all, although I still allow my insecurities to get the better of me at times.  I am who I am and I can’t please everyone (although I do try).
 
AND MOST IMPORTANTLY…
 
I have done a lot of self-reflecting this past year and have started to change the aspects of my life that I felt needed to be changed.  The result has been self-respect and self-love (two of the greatest gifts yet greatest challenges one can face).
 
This past year has been a year of challenge and change for a lot of people and I hope that everyone took out of it a wealth of experience and learned the lessons they needed to learn.  I hope that 2006 is going to be a wonderful year for every single one of you and that we can welcome in the new year on a positive note and a HUGE smile on our face.  May 2006 be our year.
Leave a Reply

